My inspiration for Yumi and Ian’s shoot

Coffee Cup and Engagement Ring

I have been hacking away with my camera for some time now and I think I’ve been doing pretty well. Over the past few weeks I’ve had the opportunity to take photos for some friends, which has given me some practice.

When  Yumi and Ian got engaged, I wanted to give them something that was special. They’ve been living together for a while so I was sure they didn’t need another toaster/blender/set of wine glasses.

So I offered them an engagement shoot and today we went out and had a lovely time hanging out at the Veg Out Markets in St Kilda, Saloop Cafe in Gardenvale and Brighton Beach.

To get some inspiration I visited many, many different sites. This one on a Palm Beach Engagement from Style Me Pretty is where I got the idea for the signs.

They colours are very ‘In Vogue’ at the moment, and the beach huts down at Brighton look amazing with the vintage wash. You can see some other examples here (if I had the biggest styling budget and I was more prepared) or here at Polka Dot Bride.

I really enjoyed today, and I think that is a real benefit of engagement photo shoots. Everybody is far more relaxed and having a lot of fun. Wedding photos are full of that gorgeous luxurious glamour, but engagement shoots can be anything.

I hope you find your own inspiration from these websites, and please – if you have any other favourites – send them on!

This entry was published on January 7, 2012 at 12:53 pm. It’s filed under Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment